My mind, my thoughts, my words

The beginnings of a long trip

My boyfriend, Dan, and I met hiking around New Zealand. He was work-travelling for a few years, and I was  in my third (exchange) year at university. Once I had to go back to the UK to finish my 4-year degree, we started planning what to do once I was done. Neither him nor I had a clue what to do (professionally) but we both love the outdoors and travelling and Dan figured, why not cycle around South America for a few years; travel while you’re young before learning a trade and getting a job becomes inevitable.

So we started planning. First we thought about cycling the Pan-American Highway from Alaska to Argentina, then we figured we might just start in Canada (where Dan is located at the moment), but we eventually decided to start in Mexico; he wasn’t keen on cycling through the States, and this would give us more time to enjoy cycling at our pace rather than rushing all the way down so that we wouldn’t take too long.

bikes

Whilst in Jasper (Alberta), Dan fell in love with Surly’s Pugsleys – fat bikes – which allow you to cycle on any kind of terrain (snow, sand, you name it…). Whilst doubtful at first (worried they might be too heavy, they have massive wheels – see picture) I was quickly convinced when I had a ride myself and so we ordered two lovely blue Pugsleys just before the new year. Quite pricey (more than 2000 CAD each) they will (hopefully) be worth it. With sturdy bikes like these our chances of breaking down in the middle of nowhere will be minimised and we will be able to go off-road and enjoy beautiful untouched lands.

The past couple of months we’ve been ordering in gear. Again, pricey, but fortunately everything is cheaper in Canada/the US than in the UK, and having good quality gear is necessary if you’re planning such a big trip. Most of it will hopefully last us all the way. We’re probably even going to save money on the road by travelling through countries that are cheaper and by not having to spend money on rent.

I’m finishing uni in May so we’ll probably be off at the end of May. We just started a blog where we’ll post every now and then about our travels and gear, subscribe if you feel like following our adventure.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 07/03/2014 by in Miscellaneous, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
