My mind, my thoughts, my words

LEGEN-

legendary(-wait for it-) If you haven’t heard of How I met your mother yet… you’re missing out. I’m not an addict of the series (as some of my friends) but I really enjoy watching it, it’s fun, a wide range of people can relate to the different characters and it even deals with more serious issues such as racism. But the main reason for a linguist to watch it is… the language, of course. Just take this scene – wouldn’t it be awesome if people came up with such an amazing wordplay in everyday life, rather than reading it off a script!?

Jerry: So, Saturday night? Time to cut loose, right? Who wants to split a beer?
Barney: Oh, we’re not drinking here. Tonight, we’re going big. Let’s see, what club should we hit first? There’s club Was, there’s Wrong…
Marshall: Um, those places shut down a long time ago.
Barney: Oh no…
Marshall: Oh No shut down too.
Ted: There’s Where.
Jerry: Where’s Where?
Lily: Where’s where Was was, isn’t it?
Barney: No, Was wasn’t where Where was, Was was where Wrong was, right?
Jerry: Ok…
Ted: Not OK, that place is lame.
Robin: OK is Lame? I thought Lame was a gay bar… or is that wrong?
Marshall: That’s Wrong. That’s not wrong.
Barney: Guys, focus.
Robin: Oh, I like Focus! Let’s go there.
Ted: Where?
Robin: Not Where. Focus!
Lily: I thought Focus was closed.
Barney: No, Was was Closed. Once Was shut down, it re-opened as Closed.
Marshall: So Closed is open.
Robin: No, Closed is closed.

Apart from scenes like that, the series has brought quotes into some of my friends’ lives that they could no longer live without😉 (mostly Barney-phrases)…

And more – find out for yourself!🙂

therewith I conclude

-DARY

Information

This entry was posted on 02/05/2012 by in Academia, Linguistic Musings and tagged , , , .
