My mind, my thoughts, my words

(Do) you need to keep it complicated (?)

When revising Spanish I came over a nice text by Ramón Civedé. I shall translate it here for you. The original is called “No hay que complicar la felicidad

No need to complicate happiness

In a park. A girl and a boy are sitting on a stone bench under some trees. They kiss.

He – I love you.
She – I love you
(They kiss each other again)
He – I love you
She – I love you
(They kiss each other again)
He – I love you
She – I love you
(He stands up violently)
He – Enough! It’s always the same! Why, when I tell you that I love you, don’t you reply, for example, that you love someone else?
She – Who else?
He – Anyone. You should say that so that I’ll be jealous. Jealousy feeds love. Our happiness is too simple. It needs to be more complicated. Do you understand?
She – I didn’t want to confess it because I thought you’d suffer. But you’ve guessed it.
He – What have I guessed?
She – That I love someone else.
He – You say that to please me. Because I asked you.
She – No, I love someone else.
He – Who?
She – Someone else.
(Silence.)
He – So it’s true?
She – (She leans back. Sweetly:) Yes, it’s true.
(He walks around. He appears to be very angry)
He – I’m jealous. I’m not pretending. I’m jealous. I’m dying of jealousy. I want to kill this other person.
She – (Sweetly:) He’s there.
He – Where?
She – There. Between those trees.
He – I’ll go look for him.
She – Be careful. He’s got a gun.
He – I’m brave.
(He leaves. Left alone, she laughs. The shot of a firearm is heard. She stops laughing.)
She – Juan.
(Silence. She stands up.)
She – Juan?
(Silence. She disappears between the trees.)
She – Juan
(Silence. The scene remains empty. One hears, further away, her heart-breaking scream:)
She – Juan!
(After a moment, the curtain falls silently)

The moral of the story? I guess you can figure that out yourself😉

2 comments on “(Do) you need to keep it complicated (?)

  1. michellekealt
    11/02/2013

    So juan really died? but she lied about loving someone else?

  2. Margarita Vargas
    30/08/2016

    The play is by Argentinian Marco Denevi.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 20/03/2011 by in Favourite posts, Literature and tagged , , , .
