My mind, my thoughts, my words

One day, baby, we’ll be old – Julia Engelmann’s slam (in German and translated into English)

A few of my German friends shared a video of Julia Engelmann  (video embedded at the bottom or click herewho ‘slammed’ at the  Bielefelder Hörsaal-Slam (Campus TV 2013). I was so touched by what she said that I got goosebumps and decided to transcribe and then translate her text. (I wrote out some words in their ‘correct German version’ which Julia shortened to make it flow.)

mein (Julia’s) Text heißt ‘one day/reckoning text’ orientiert sich an einem Remix den ihr vielleicht kennt: One day baby we’ll be old, old baby we’ll be old and think of all the stories that we could have told’. My text is called ‘one day/reckoning text’, in reference to a remix you might know: One day baby we’ll be old, old baby we’ll be old and think of all the stories that we could have told’. …
Eines Tages, Baby, werden wir alt sein,
oh Baby werden wir alt sein und an all die Geschichten denken die wir hätten erzählen können
One day, baby, we’ll be old,
oh baby when we’re old and think of all the stories that we could have told
ich, ich bin der Meister der Streiche wenn’s um Selbstbetrug geht I, I am the master of pranks when it comes to self-deception
bin ein Kleinkind vom Feinsten wenn ich vor Aufgaben steh I’m a toddler at its best when I face tasks
bin ein entschleunigtes Teilchen,
kann auf keinstem was reißen,
lass mich begeistern für Leichtsinn wenn ein Andrer ihn lebt
I’m a decelerated particle,
(not sure about this bit),
let myself be enthused for recklessness when it’s lived by someone else
und ich denke zu viel nach,
ich warte zu viel ab,
ich nehm mir zu viel vor und ich mach davon zu wenig
and I think too much,
I wait too much,
I take too much in my hands and I do too little of it
ich halt mich zu oft zurück,
ich zweifel alles an,
ich wäre gerne klug, allein das ist ziemlich dämlich
I often hold back,
I doubt everything,
I wish I was smart, but even that is stupid
ich würd gern so vieles sagen,
aber bleibe meistens still,
weil wenn ich das alles sagen würde wär das viel zu viel
I would like to say so much,
but stay quiet most of the time,
because if I said everything it would be way to much
ich würde gern so vieles tun,
meine Liste ist so lang,
aber ich werd eh nie alles schaffen,
also fang ich gar nicht an
I would like to do so much,
my list is so long,
but I’ll never get around everything,
so I don’t even begin
stattdessen häng ich planlos vorm Smartphone,wart bloß auf den nächsten Freitag,„ach das mach ich später“ ist die Baseline meines Alltags Instead, I’m on my smartphone without plan,waiting for next Friday,‘uh, I’ll do that later’ is the baseline of my daily routine
ich bin so furchtbar faul,
wie ein Kieselsteig am Meeresgrund,
ich bin so furchtbar faul,
mein Patronus ist ein Schweinehund
I’m so horribly lazy,
like a pebble on the ocean bed,
I’m so horribly lazy,
my patronus is a bastard
mein Leben ist ein Wartezimmer,niemand ruft mich auf,mein Dopamin das spar ich immer falls ich‘s nochmal brauch my life is a waiting room,no one calls me up,I always save my dopamine in case I need it later
Und eines Tages, Baby, werd ich alt sein,oh Baby werd ich alt sein und an all die Geschichten denken die ich hätte erzählen können And one day, baby, I’ll be old,oh baby I’ll be old and think of all the stories I could’ve told
und du, du murmelst jedes Jahr neu an Silvester die wiedergleichen Vorsätze treu in dein Sektglas and you, you loyally mutter every year anew on new year’s eve the same old resolutions into your champagne glass
und Ende Dezember stellst du fest,
dass du Recht hast,
wenn du sagst, dass du sie dieses Jahr schon wieder vercheckt hast
and at the end of December you realise
that you’re right
when you say that you forgot/missed it again this year
dabei sollte für dich 2013 das erste Jahr vom Rest deines Lebens werden and yet, 2013 should’ve been the first year of the rest of your life
du wolltest abnehmen,
früher aufstehen,
öfter rausgehen,
mal deine Träume angehn,
mal die Tagesschau sehn, für mehr Smalltalk, Allgemeinwissen
you wanted to lose weight,
get up earlier,
get out more often,
tackle your dreams,
watch the news more often, for more small-talk and general knowledge
aber so wie jedes Jahr,obwohl du nicht damit gerechnet hast,
kam dir wieder mal dieser Alltag dazwischen
but like every year,although you didn’t expect it,
everyday life intervened
unser Leben ist ein Wartezimmer,
niemand ruft uns auf
our life is a waiting room,
no one calls us up
unser Dopamin das sparen wir immer
falls wir‘s noch mal brauchen
we save our dopamine
in case we’ll need it later
und wir sind jung und haben viel Zeit,
warum sollen wir was riskieren,
wir wollen doch keine Fehler machen,
wollen doch nichts verlieren
and we are young and we have plenty of time,
why should we risk,
we don’t want to make mistakes,
we don’t want to lose anything
und es bleibt so viel zu tun,
unsere Listen bleiben lang,
und so geht Tag für Tag ganz still ins unbekannte Land
and there remains so much to do,
our lists stay long,
and so day after day pass into unknown lands
und eines Tages, Baby, werden wir alt sein,
oh Baby werden wir alt sein und an all die Geschichten denken die wir hätten erzählen können
and one day, baby, we’ll be old,
oh baby we’ll be old and think of all the stories we could have told
und die Geschichten die wir dann stattdesssen erzählen werden traurige Konjunktive sein, wie and the stories we’ll tell instead will be sad conjunctives, like
„einmal bin ich fast einen Marathon gelaufen,
und hätte fast die Buddenbrooks gelesen,
und einmal wär ich beinahe bis die Wolken wieder Lila waren noch wach gewesen,
und fast, fast hätten wir uns mal demaskiert und gesehn wir sind die Gleichen,
und dann hätten wir uns fast gesagt wie viel wir uns bedeuten“, werden wir sagen
‘once, I almost ran a marathon,
and almost read the Buddenbrooks,
and once I almost stayed up until the clouds turned purple again,
and almost, we almost demasked and saw that we were the same,
and then we almost told each other how much we meant to another’, we’ll say
und dass wir nur bloß faul und feige waren werden wir verschweigen,
und uns heimlich wünschen noch ein bisschen hier zu bleiben
and we’ll keep it a secret that we were nothing but lazy and coward,
and we’ll wish in secret to stay here just a little bit longer
wenn wir dann alt sind und unsere Tage knapp – und das wird sowieso passieren – dann erst werden wir kapieren wir hatten nie was zu verlieren, then when we’re old and our day’s numbered – and that will definitely happen – only then we’ll realise that we had nothing to lose
denn das Leben, das wir führen wollen, das können wir selber wählen,
also lass uns doch Geschichten schreiben, die wir später gern erzählen
because the life that we want to lead can only be chosen by us,
so let us write stories that we’ll enjoy telling later
lass uns nachts lange wach bleiben,
aufs höchste Hausdach der Stadt steigen,
lachend und vom Takt frei die allertollsten Lieder singen
let’s stay up late,
climb up the highest roof in the city,
laughing and singing the best songs out of rhythm
lass uns Feste wie Konfetti schmeißen,
sehn wie sie zu Boden reisen und die gefallenenn Feste feiern bis die Wolken wieder Lila sind,
let’s throw parties like confetti,
see how they travel to the ground and celebrate the fallen parties until the clouds have turned purple again,
und lass mal an uns selber glauben,
is mir egal ob das verrückt ist,
und wer genau guckt sieht, dass Mut auch bloß ein Anagramm von Glück ist
and let’s believe in ourselves
,I don’t care whether that’s crazy,
and whoever looks can see that courage is just another anagram for fortune
und wer immer wir auch waren,
lass mal werden wer wir sein wollen
and whoever we used to be,
let’s become who we want to be
wir haben schon viel zu lang gewartet,
lass mal Dopamin vergeuden
we’ve already waited far too long,
let’s waste some dopamine
der Sinn des Lebens ist leben,
das hat schon Casper gesagt
the sense of life is living,
Casper said that already
Let’s make the most of the night,
das hast schon Ke$a gesagt
Let’s make the most of the night,
Ke$a said that already
lass uns möglichst viele Fehler machen und möglichst viel aus ihnen lernen let’s make plenty of mistakes and learn a lot from them
lass uns jetzt schon Gutes säen,
damit wir später Gutes ernten
let’s seed Good already now,
so that we can harvest Good later
lass uns alles tun weil wir können und nicht müssen let’s do everything because we can and not because we have to
weil jetzt sind wir jung und lebendig und das soll ruhig jeder wissen because now we’re young and alive and anyone can know
und unsere Zeit die geht vorbei,
das wird sowieso passieren
and our time will end,
that will happen in any case
und bis dahin sind wir frei und es gibt nichts zu verlieren and until then we’re free and there’s nothing to lose
lass uns uns mal demaskieren, und dann sehen, wir sind die Gleichen,
und dann können wir uns ruhig sagen, dass wir uns viel bedeuten,denn das Leben, das wir führen wollen, das können wir selber wählen
let’s demask, and see, we’re still the same,
and then we can tell each other that we mean a lot to each other,because we can choose the life that we want to lead
also los, schreiben wir Geschichten die wir später gern erzählen so let’s go, let’s write stories that we’ll like to tell later
und eines Tages, Baby, werden wir alt sein,
oh Baby werden wir alt sein und an all die Geschichten denken die für immer unsere sind
and one day, baby, we’ll be old,
oh baby we’ll be old and think about all the stories that will always be ours

One comment on “One day, baby, we’ll be old – Julia Engelmann’s slam (in German and translated into English)

  1. Cedric
    21/02/2014

    Hallo Gina, i’m Cedric from france and i am very thankful for your translation of this Declaration of Hope. My german friend posted this video and it definately had my interest. Its always magical to feel the power of words.. Thank you again and Happy blogging :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

